Book Recommendations Based Off Of Your Favorite Avatar The Last Airbender Characters!

Water *SwOosh*

Waterbending Avatar GIFs | Tenor

Earth *StoMp Stermp*

earth fire air water

Fire *Pfheww*

Best Tlok Openning GIFs | Gfycat

Air *Wooo~*

Pin by Grace E on gif | Legend of korra, Korra, Intro

Long ago the four nations lived together in harmony, then everything changed when the fire nation attacked-

Hiya everyone! I hope you are all doing well. Today I’m bringing you some book recs for your favorite Avatar The Last Airbender and Legend Of Korra characters! As a die hard Avatar fan, I just had to make this!

For those of you who don’t know, Avatar The Last Airbender is a series centered around the journey of 12-year-old Aang, the current Avatar and last survivor of the air nation, along with his friends Katara, Sokka, Toph, and many others. The Legend Of Korra is a spin-off of ATLA. PS: Click on the book cover images to add them to goodreads. Anyways, let’s get right to it!

1. Aang

“When we hit our lowest point, we are open to the greatest change.”

At number one, we’ve got Aang! I chose Howl’s Moving Castle! I’m sure some of you had no idea there was a book version of the critically acclaimed Studio Ghibli film. I didn’t’ either! The movie was actually based off of this novel, and was written by Diana Wynne Jones. Sophie, the main character, reminds me so much of Aang. They are both soft and kind people who have hearts of gold. (Yes that was cringy don’t come at me.) If Aang is your favorite character, this is the book for you!

Avatar The Last Airbender GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY
Howl's Moving Castle: Jones, Diana Wynne: 9780061478789: Books - Amazon.ca

2. Katara

“I will never, ever, turn my back on people who need me.”

Up next we have Katara! This feminist water bender fights both the fire nation, and the patriarchy. So what better than to recommend the whimsically political novel; A Song Below Water by Bethany Morrow. I mean come on, this cover just screams waterbender!

avatar katara gif | WiffleGif
A Song Below Water: A Novel: Amazon.ca: Morrow, Bethany C.: Books

3. Sokka

“It’s The Quenchiest”

For Sokka, who quite frankly is one of my favorite characters, I decided to go with the witty YA novel; The Field Guide To The North American Teenager by Ben Philippe. No matter the scenario, Sokka can always come up with a snarky remark, even in the hardest of times. Not to get ✨deep ✨ or anything, but Sokka always has a smile on his face, and I really admire that. If I wasn’t a bender in the Avatar world, I’d be pretty bummed out all the time. So kudos to Sokka for always finding a way to fight without fancy powers.

Sokka GIF - Find on GIFER
The Field Guide to the North American Teenager eBook: Philippe, Ben:  Amazon.ca: Kindle Store

4. Toph

“I Am The Greatest Earth Bender In The World; Don’t You Two Dunderheads Ever Forget It!”

Toph is an incredibly stubborn and blunt character. She’s confident, and powerful. So what better a novel to recommend than the exciting read; Jade City by Fonda Lee! Toph is such a fighter, so I thought this book would be the perfect fit as Jade City gives off such earth bender vibes, and is so action packed! 👊😆

Toph - so cool gif, love her | Avatar airbender, The last avatar, The last  airbender
Fonda Lee | Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

5. Zuko

“I don’t need luck, and I don’t want it. I’ve always had to struggle and fight, and that’s what makes me strong. It’s what made me who I am.”

Zuko started off as such a jerk. He’d always whine and say the very iconic line “I MuSt CaptURE ThE AvaTAR To ReGaiN My HoNor.” However, Zuko’s redemption arc changed him. He was able to empathize with others and realized that his honor wasn’t something his father could give him. Grief and guilt are things Zuko had to overcome in order to truly be happy with himself. So what better than the coming of age novel; Patron Saints Of Nothing by Randy Ribay. The novel is very character and emotionally driven, much like Zuko. (Also, doesn’t this cover just scream Prince Zuko of The Fire Nation 😂)

Zuko the Dragon's dance red dragon avatar last airbender | Avatar, The last  airbender, Avatar zuko
Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay: 9780525554929 |  PenguinRandomHouse.com: Books

6. Azula

“Maybe You Should Worry Less About The Tides, Who’ve Already Made Up Their Mind About Killing You, And More About Me, Who’s Still Mulling It Over.”

How could I not list the book Vicious when the title is literally her primary character trait. Azula is my favorite character, but sometimes, I just don’t understand her. Much like how I had literally no idea as to what was going on in Vicious when I was reading it. I still don’t know what went down in that book. (I haven’t finished it so please no spoilers 😆) The grit and determination of the characters reminded me so much of Azula. I knew I just had to include it!

Pin on Avatar / The Last Airbender
Book Review & Giveaway: Vicious by V.E. Schwab |

7. Suki

“Wait a second! There’s no way a bunch of girls took us down!” -Sokka “A bunch of girls huh? The Unagi’s going the eat well tonight.” -Suki

Suki is a Kyoshi warrior, and an incredible fighter. Like Katara, she was often underestimated by her male counterparts. Nevertheless, she always finds a way to prove them wrong! That’s why I chose the novel; Fight Like A Girl by Sheema Kamal. The novel focuses on a teenage girl who’s a Muay Thai fighter, and is struggling to keep her family from hurting any longer. Fight Like A Girl is a powerful read that carries almost as much passion as Suki does.

GIF suki - animated GIF on GIFER
Fight Like a Girl: Kamal, Sheena: 9780735265554: Books - Amazon.ca

8. Korra

“I Needed To Understand What Real Suffering Was, So I Could Become More Compassionate To Others.”

Korra is my all time favorite fictional character. People hate on her too much. 😦 I must say that choosing simply one book to represent Korra was really difficult. She’s compassionate, but also stubborn. In the end, I decided to go with Throne of Glass and The Poppy War!

Legend of Korra gifs - Album on Imgur
Amazon.com: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, 1) (9781599906959): Maas,  Sarah J.: Books
Tonraq |Father of the Avatar | Avatar airbender, Avatar series, Avatar aang
The Poppy War (Perang Opium) – hanabooktopia

9. Mako and Bolin

“We Were Orphans Out On The Street. I Did What I Had To Do To Survive And To Protect My Little Brother.” -Mako

The books I chose to represent Mako and Bolin represent their relationship. (I know that people might not agree with these, but then again, it’s just for fun!)

Avatar Respect Thread: Mako and Bolin - Off-Topic - Comic Vine
October 2018- "Pachinko" by Min Jin Lee. | Book awards, National book  award, Good books
Top 30 Lok Spoilers GIFs | Find the best GIF on Gfycat
30688435. sy475

10. Asami

“People Usually Assume That I’m Daddy’s Helpless Little Girl But I Can Handle Myself.” 

Asami is known to be glamorous, intelligent, and an excellent fighter. Much like Sokka, she didn’t let her non-benderness get the best of her. Her constant persistence and grit reminds me of; The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid!

juliawithseashelleyes | Avatar airbender, Korra avatar, Legend of korra
Taylor Jenkins Reid: How I became a bestselling book author

Bonus; Zuko and Azula’s Dysfunctional Family

It’s no secret that Zuko has quite the dysfunctional family. From a power hungry sister, to a downright evil dad, his family is dysfunctional galore. *Flashback to The Last Agni Kai* To top it all off, his mother abandoned them when he was a kid. So what better a novel than; The Dutch House by Ann Patchett!

Avatar / The Last Airbender / #GIF | Avatar airbender, Avatar the last  airbender, Avatar
The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

And that’s a wrap! Hopefully you found a book or two to read. If I missed your favorite characters, I’m sorry. (Please forgive me for not doing May or Ty lee. 😆) Who’s your favorite Avatar Universe character?

I hope you enjoyed, and I’ll see you next Tuesday!

Avatar The Last Airbender Aang GIF - AvatarTheLastAirbender Aang Airbending  - Discover & Share GIFs

|My Instagram | My Pinterest |

35 Comments

  1. This is SUCH a stellar idea!!! I love Avatar. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE THIS POST ahhhh, my favourite characters would have to be toph and zuko hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Clarice! Yeah they’re great hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. *whispers* i haven’t seen avatar yet! but that aside, this is an incredible recommendations post, saniya! the gifs are such a sight and i’m so pleased to see a couple of books on my tbr featured like jade city, throne of glass and the poppy war! ahh i do get what you mean by not understanding what happens in vicious haha, the characters are sooo complex… and the ending js one of my favs, hope that you enjoy the rest of the book! 💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bahahaha it’s totally fine, ahhh whoops. I thought everyone has seen Avatar. Thank you regardless though Cherelle. 😆 I’m glad books on your TBR where futured! Yes, I cannot wait to finish Vicious. I had to return it back to the library since I didn’t finish in time. So it’s on hold as we speak. I’m glad you liked the gifs as well! Thank you once again for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Such an amazing recommendation post! I love ATLA and was excited to see you pair the characters to books 🥰 You introduced me to a few new books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Caro! It means a lot! I’m glad I introduced you to new books!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Cherry says:

    *i know nothing about this series* haha but this is an amazing list Saniya!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s totally fine! (I haven’t read any YA fantasy .) Thank you for reading nonetheless Cherry!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Aah I really enjoyed reading this post! I’m still watching ATLA and have yet to start Korra but I really enjoy it so far and hopefully I’ll watch more soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you’re enjoying ATLA! It’s a childhood favorite of mine. Lemme know what you think when you watch the Legend Of Korra! (If you do watch it, don’t compare the two shows. It’ll make the overall experience less enjoyable. 😆) Thank you so much for reading Pheonix!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. will do, when I ever get to it! (my sister and i are notoriously slow at watching shows haha) Okay good to know, I’ve definitely heard that Korra is not as good as ATLA so I will try not to compare. No problem!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. hahaha I’m the same. Yeah a lot of people say that about Korra, (I personally like it better.) Enjoy your shows!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ooh, interesting. Well, we’ll see what I think!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Sanskriti / portalsintobooks says:

    Fight like a girl sounds so good! I loved reading this post❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sanskriti! ❤❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. ahh… I could hear the introduction to the show at the start. Your post has definitely made me want to rewatch the show haha !! I love how you have included quotes from the show for each character !!
    I’m so need to check out Howl’s Moving Castle and if Sophie is like Aang that makes me so excited !! ahh.. I loved so many of your other recommendations too and I love how the covers fit their bending too. Azula is one of my faves too !! Plus Sokka (he matches so well with the field guide to the north american teenager, love it) and Suki !! Also Uncle Iroh, i love him sooo much !! Korra does deserve more appreciation I agree. She goes through a lot and she is so strong !! I REALLY loved this post a lot !! 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sophie!! 🥺 I’m glad you’ll rewatch ATLA. I can’t believe I forgot Uncle Iroh, omg please forgive me. I am a disgrace to the fire nation now. 😂 I’m glad you noticed the color combos! I really appreciate that, you have a good eye! Ahhh I love all the characters, but Azula and Sokka are my faves. Finally someone that doesn’t bash Korra 😆 Thank you for reading! 💞💞💞

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Iroh would completely forgive you and share tea with you 😂 haha yesss i loved that touch !!
        They are amazing !! I know, Korra does get a lot hate, but her journey is so intense and awesome really !!
        💕💕💕

        Liked by 1 person

      2. you speak f a c t s 😆

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I haven’t seen this series yet but this sounds like an awesome idea!
    I do plan to watch it in a few days……

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should totally watch it! Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Noelle says:

    This is such an AMAZING idea! I don’t watch a lot of TV but I absolutely love ATLA and LoK! I found some great books to add to my TBR, and I’ll be thinking fondly of the characters as I read. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Noelle! This means a lot to me! 🥰 Do let me know if you pick up the books I recommended. Also, who is your favorite character? 💞💞💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Noelle says:

        So far I’ve only read the Throne of Glass series from the books you mentioned, but I do think Korra would like it!

        Ah, how can I possibly choose a favorite?! I love them all from each series! 💕 I guess I’ll choose Zuko for ATLA. His character arc was amazing.

        As for LoK…it’s far harder for me to choose! Maybe Asami is my favorite (Korra is a close second, however). I really admired Asami’s perseverance and how kind-hearted she remained. It’s also cool how she learned to fight and contribute in her own way without bending! I also loved the brothers’ dynamics. I wish we could have seen more of Mako and Bolin’s backstory instead of that love triangle in the first season. But, now I’m rambling, haha. 😅

        Like

      2. ooo korra and asami are so awesome! I also love varrick! Yes I completely agree with you about Asami. And I LOVED the brother dynamic as well. Ahhh I could chat all day about Lok hahahaha. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Noelle says:

        I could too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Aditi says:

    THIS IS SO CREATIVE!!! I love it so much! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, it means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment