The Mid Year Freakout Book Tag!

Hiya!! It’s been a while since I’ve done a tag, so I thought why not do one again? For those of you who don’t know, this tag is a bit like a six month bookish wrap up in tag form. I hope you enjoy!

The Best Books You’ve Read so Far

In Deeper Waters by F.T. Lukens

New Releases You Haven’t Read Yet, but Want To

Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

There are so many that come to mind! But here are the first three that I thought of. It All Comes Back to You by Farah Naz Rishi looks so fun! The cover is also stunning as well! The Lady or the Lion by Aamna Qureshi is a YA fantasy with a Pakistani setting. I’ve never read a fantasy inspired by Pakistani culture, so I’m super excited to read it! Not Here to Be Liked by Michelle Quach is another release I’m also very excited for!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is untitled-design-1.png

Biggest Disappointment

A Song Below Water: A Novel : Morrow, Bethany C.: Amazon.ca: Books

I had such high hopes for One Last Stop. However, it unfortunately missed the mark for me.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is untitled-design-1.png

Biggest Surprise

Rumaysa: A Fairytale: Hafiza, Radiya, Siddique, Areeba, El Touny, Rhaida:  9781529038309: Books - Amazon.ca

This is a middle grade retelling of three fairytales but with a desi (South Asian) twist. And I adored it! It was filled with girl power, fun plots, and amazing representation!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is untitled-design-1.png

Favorite New to You Author

We Can't Keep Meeting Like This by Rachel Lynn Solomon

We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This by Rachel Lynn Solomon was my first book of theirs, and probably won’t be the last!

Favorite Debut Author

Made in Korea by Sarah Suk

Sarah Suk’s debut novel was one of my favorites this year. I didn’t think I’d love it as much as I did, but Made in Korea was so good!

Newest Favorite Characters

Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon

I really enjoyed reading about Evie and X from Nicola Yoon’s newest book Instructions for Dancing! They were both funny and charming.

A Book That Made You Cry

Turtle Under Ice by Juleah del Rosario

Juleah del Rosario’s Turtle Under Ice was incredibly heartbreaking and emotional. It’s about a mother’s death and sisterly love, and was just so beautiful.

A Book That Made You Happy

A Taste for Love: Yen, Jennifer: 9780593117521: Books - Amazon.ca

A Taste For Love by Jennifer Yen was such a fun book on food and familial relationships. It definitely put a smile on my face!

Favorite Post You’ve Done This Year

In January I did a post where I gave recommendations based off of people’s favorite Avatar the Last Airbender and Legend of Korra character. Feel free to read the post here!

Books You Need to Read By the End of the Year

I hope you enjoyed the tag! Here are some lovely people I nominate to do this one as well. (This is just for fun, so if you don’t feel like it, than no worries!) Also, if you’ve done this tag before, feel free to link it in the comments so I can read yours as well. 😀

I tag…

Instagram | Pinterest | Ko-fi |

27 Comments

  1. I completely agree on Once Upon An Eid, it was so sweet! Loved the post Saniya! 💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Cherry, so glad you agree!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed A Taste For Love and Any Day With You. I also need to read From Little Tokyo. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked them! I also need to read From Little Tokyo with Love. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. itsKoo says:

    Thanks for tagging me! Rachel Lynn Solomon is one of my favorites so I was happy to see her as a favorite new to you author. I am also anticipating Not Here to Be Liked.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha thanks Koo! I hope we both love Not Here to be Liked! ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the tag!! I hope you get to read Gearbreakers soon, it’s amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course, it’s my pleasure hehe. I hope so too! Gearbreakers looks soo good :))

      Liked by 1 person

  5. readersinwonderland21 says:

    I am really excited for Rachel Lynn Solomon’s new YA book because I really loved The Ex Talk so I’m happy to hear you liked it. Instructions for Dancing definitely made my favorites list this year too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you love We Can’t Keep meeting Like this! Yay! I’m glad you liked it too ❤

      Like

  6. Jayati says:

    I am so excited to read It All Comes Back to you as well! And off, I’m sad to Hera you didn’t enjoy One Last Stop :/ OMG yes I loved Ace of spades and hope you do too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay!! I hope we both love it! Aww it’s okay, you win some you lose some? Ahhh yayyy, I’m glad you liked ace of spades! <33

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Karla says:

    Lovely post!! I can’t wait to read Instructions for Dancing! I have only heard amazing things!
    Ace of Spades is one of my favourite books of the year! I hope you’ll love it!! 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i hope you love it!! ahh yay!! it’s quite a thick book, but I hope to get thru it soon. Thank you for reading Karla!! ❤

      Like

  8. Eleanor J. says:

    I’ve been meaning to read Once Upon an Eid and Rumaysa looks so lovely! Yess Not Here to Be Liked cannot come fast enough 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. the two are my all time faves, so I hope you love them!! for sure! i hope we both like it hehe. thank you for reading Eleanor! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. sania! omg it all comes back to you sounds like perfection, and i cannot wait till it’s out! i can confirm not here to be liked is a wonderful book, because i finished the ARC a few days ago, so i hope you love that too! ace of spades is one of my favs, and i really enjoyed gearbreakers! lovely post ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. same!! oo congrats on the arc, i’m so happy you liked it!! it’s nice to know that so many of my anticipated releases are your faves, can’t wait to dive in soon!! (right after i finish my crushing arc pile loll) thank you so much for reading ahaana ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Once Upon an Eid was a favourite of mine too! S.K Ali is such a talented writer so I’d definitely recommend reading Misfit in Love when you get the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i def want to read Misfit in Love! Do you think I could read it w out reading saints and misfits?

      Like

  11. i can’t wait for the lady and the lion too! it sounds amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yay! i hope you love it!!

      Like

  12. i also cannot wait for not here to be liked, it sounds amazing!! ahh ace of spades is so good, i hope you’ll love it when you read it!! fab post, heres to a great second half of the year!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes!! there are so many amazing-looking releases coming out! i hope i like ace of spades too then 😀 Have a lovely second half of the year too! ❤

      Like

Leave a Comment