Blog Tour: Journey to the Heart of the Abyss (Light the Abyss #2) // A Moodboard!

Hiya! Today I bring you a mood board for the incredibly atmospheric novel; Journey to the Heart of the Abyss (Light the Abyss #2). Enjoy!

Journey to the Heart of the Abyss by London Shah

Book Info

Title: Journey to the Heart of the Abyss (Light the Abyss #2)

Author: London Shah

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction

Publication Date: October 26, 2021

Synopsis

The sequel to London Shah’s thrilling futuristic mystery The Light at the Bottom of the World, perfect for fans of Illuminae and These Broken Stars.

Leyla McQueen has finally reunited with her father after breaking him out of Broadmoor, the illegal government prison—but his freedom comes at a terrible cost. As Leyla celebrates his return, she must grapple with the pain of losing Ari. Now separated from the boy who has her heart and labeled the nation’s number one enemy, Leyla must risk illegal travel through unchartered waters in her quest for the truth behind her father’s arrest.

Across Britain, the fallout from Leyla’s actions has escalated tensions between Anthropoid and non-Anthropoid communities, bringing them to an all-time high. And, as Leyla and her friends fight to uncover the startling truths about their world, she discovers her own shocking past—and the horrifying secrets behind her father’s abduction and arrest. But as these long-buried truths finally begin to surface, so, too, do the authorities’ terrible future plans. And if the ever-pervasive fear prevents the people from taking a stand now, the abyss could stay in the dark forever.

Find out more about Journey to the Heart of the Abyss with these links!

//Goodreads//Amazon//Barnes and Nobles//Book Depository//Indigo//Indiebound//

Here is the tour schedule link. If you have time, do check out the other lovely tour stops as well!

Moodboard

Here’s a moodboard I made for the book!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cloud-spacer.png

About the Author

London Shah | Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

London Shah is a British Muslim of Pashtun ethnicity. She has lived in Britain’s capital for most of her life, via England’s beautiful North. On any given day she can be found daydreaming of a different past, an alternate present, or some surreal future. She enjoys drinking copious amounts of tea, eating all the sweets and cakes, strolling through Richmond Park or along the Thames, getting lost on an evening in the city’s older, darker alleyways—preferably just after it’s rained—listening to punk rock, and losing herself in a fab SFF book or film. The Light at the Bottom of the World is her debut novel. The sequel Journey to the Heart of the Abyss releases 26.10.21.

//Website//Instagram//Goodreads//

Thank you so much for reading this tour stop! I hope you check out Journey to the Heart of the Abyss, and love this series as much as I do. Have a great day!

Blog Tour: Blood Like Magic // A Review and Mood Board!

Hey everyone! Today’s post is an exciting one because I’ll be hosting a blog tour stop for Blood Like Magic by Liselle Sambury. Enjoy!

Blood Like Magic (Blood Like Magic, #1) by Liselle Sambury

Book Info

Title: Blood Like Magic

Author: Liselle Sambury

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publication Date: June 15th 2021

Synopsis

A rich, dark urban fantasy debut following a teen witch who is given a horrifying task: sacrificing her first love to save her family’s magic. The problem is, she’s never been in love—she’ll have to find the perfect guy before she can kill him.

After years of waiting for her Calling—a trial every witch must pass in order to come into their powers—the one thing Voya Thomas didn’t expect was to fail. When Voya’s ancestor gives her an unprecedented second chance to complete her Calling, she agrees—and then is horrified when her task is to kill her first love. And this time, failure means every Thomas witch will be stripped of their magic.

Voya is determined to save her family’s magic no matter the cost. The problem is, Voya has never been in love, so for her to succeed, she’ll first have to find the perfect guy—and fast. Fortunately, a genetic matchmaking program has just hit the market. Her plan is to join the program, fall in love, and complete her task before the deadline. What she doesn’t count on is being paired with the infuriating Luc—how can she fall in love with a guy who seemingly wants nothing to do with her?

With mounting pressure from her family, Voya is caught between her morality and her duty to her bloodline. If she wants to save their heritage and Luc, she’ll have to find something her ancestor wants more than blood. And in witchcraft, blood is everything.

Content Warnings: Whipping scene within the context of slavery, gun/police violence, discussion of and character with an eating disorder, blood/gore/violence, death, substance abuse/addiction, mentions of child neglect.

Find out more about Blood Like Magic with these links!

//Goodreads//Amazon//Barnes and Noble//Book Depository//Indigo//Indiebound//

Here is the tour schedule link! If you have time, do check out the other lovely tour stops as well!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cloud-spacer.png

Review

Filled with thrilling adventure and lovable characters, Liselle Sambury delivers a 2021 release you do not want to miss.

First, let’s talk about the plot. A futuristic world revolving around a BIPOC Canadian witch sounded amazing. Luckily, the book was just as good as I hoped it’d be! The plot was constantly moving, and I was gripping on to every page wondering what would happen next.

Moreover, the characters were very likeable! Our main character Voya is strong and relatable. She constantly tries to put on a brave face, even when the odds aren’t in her favour. Her friends and family also play a huge role in the book. I absolutely adored the best friend dynamic, as well as Voya’s relationship with her grandmother. It was so unique and amazing to see!

The dialogue had it’s snarky and witty aspects to it, that I will admit, were very enjoyable. Voya and her best friend Keis had some sweet moments, but kept a steady flow of sarcastic banter. 

Unfortunately though, I did have some trouble with the writing. It was a bit too dull, which then caused the pacing to slow. I also think the book would have benefited from more descriptions and less dialogue. Blood Like Magic is set in the future, so I was hoping to get more insight on how things would work 30+ years from now. 

The overall enjoyment level of Blood Like Magic is fairly high. Personally, I feel as though it could have benefited from a shorter page length. Nevertheless, if the idea of futuristic witches intrigues you, then I say read on!

Overall Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ (3.75 out of 5 stars)

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cloud-spacer.png

Mood Board

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cloud-spacer.png

About The Author

Liselle Sambury is a Trinidadian-Canadian author who grew up in Toronto, and her brand of writing can be described as “messy Black girls in fantasy situations.” In her free time, she shares helpful tips for upcoming writers and details of her publishing journey through a YouTube channel dedicated to helping demystify the sometimes complicated business of being an author. She is represented by Kristy Hunter at The Knight Agency.

Want to follow the author? Visit the links down below!

//Website//Instagram//Goodreads//YouTube//Twitter//

This tour was organized by TBR & Beyond Tours

Thank you so much for reading this post, I hope you enjoyed! Have a fabulous day!